All set for the grand finale of the WSK Euro Series

Published on Saturday, November 4, 2023

All set for the grand finale of the WSK Euro Series

Matveev (OK), Schaufler (OKJ), Walz (MINI Gr.3), Venant (MINI Gr.3 U10), Apicella (OK-N), and Hoogendoorn (OKNJ) came to the fore in Sarno’s qualifying. The Live TV and Streaming coverage on Sunday, November 5th at 10:00, Finals from 12:20.

 After the uncertain weather on the eve of the second and final round of the WSK Euro Series in Sarno, a bit of rain arrived only in the early morning, just to remind us that it is autumn. Soon, the rain gave way to the sun, and everything proceeded smoothly, with Saturday's heats showcasing the main contenders. However, the weather forecast for the grand finale on Sunday is rather uncertain.

The WSK Euro Series, which crowns champions in the MINI, OKJ, OK, OK-N, OK-NJ categories, will conclude on Sunday, November 5th, with the Prefinals starting at 10:00 and the Finals at 12:20 (12:20 for MINI U10, 12:50 for MINI GR.3, 13:40 for OKN-OKNJ, 14:10 for OKJ, and 14:40 for OK). All the action live will be on TV stream.


Qualifying heats.

OK – Matveev keeps the momentum after the pole position, Hanna follows.

In the OK category, after securing pole position, Dmitry Matveev (#205 KR Motorsport/KR-Iame-LeCont) took the lead in the standings with two wins in the heats. He was followed by the Colombian Salim Hanna (#288 Prema Racing/KR-Iame). The third heat victory went to Kirill Kutskov (#256 DPK Racing/KR-Iame), who joins the top contenders along with Anatoly Khavalkin (#203 Parolin Motorsport/Parolin-TM Kart) and the Scottish racer Zac Drummond (#285 Parolin Motorsport/Parolin-TM Kart). Also making their way into the top ten are Sebastiano Pavan (#218 Tony Kart Racing Team/Tony Kart-Vortex), the Danish driver David Walther, and the Italian Luigi Coluccio.


OK-Junior – Schaufler has the upper hand on Martinese and Sala.

OKJ was fiercely contested and quite uncertain, with numerous contenders determined to win the category title. Leading the standings is the Austrian Niklas Schaufler (#354 DPK Racing/KR-Iame) stands out, having secured two victories and one placement that have propelled him to the top position after the heats. Excellent competitors include the Italian Iacopo Martinese (#302 KR Motorsport/KR-Iame), also with two wins, and the other Italian Filippo Sala (#324 Ricky Flynn/LN-TM Kart) with one victory, along with the Romanian driver David Cosma Cristofor (#303 KR Motorsport/KR-Iame), who has also clinched one victory. However, the poleman in the qualifying sessions, the American Jack Iliffe (#350 Parolin Motorsport/Parolin-TM Kart), has fallen behind.     


MINI Gr.3 – Walz climbs up the classification of the heats.

After Australian driver William Calleja's (#522 Babyrace/Parolin-Iame-Vega) pole position, his teammate, the American driver Devin Walz, secured the top position in the heats with a victory, a second-place finish, and a sixth-place finish, which allowed him to move up the penalty scale. Calleja was also surpassed by the Canadian driver Ilie Crisan Tristan (#553 Tony Kart Racing Team/Tony Kart-Vortex), who achieves a victory and a second-place position in the standings. Calleja, with consistent placements, is third after the heats, ahead of another third-heat winner, the Romanian driver Bogdan Cosma Cristofor (#501 Team Driver/KR/Iame)


MINI Gr.3 Under 10 – Venant on top.

In the MINI Gr.3 Under 10 category, the Belgian driver Antoine Venant (#540 Kidix/KR-Iame-Vega) took the lead with a victory and placements that position him at the top of the provisional standings. The category is highly competitive, with other heat winners ready to compete for the overall victory. Behind Venant, the Swiss driver Albert Tamm (#528 BabyRace/Parolin-Iame), the Italian driver Julian Frasnelli (#581 AVRacing/Parolin-Iame), the Portuguese Xavier Lazaro (#560 DR-TM Kart), Italian driver Niccolò Perico (#575 Energy Corse/Energy-TM Kart), the Spanish driver Daniel Miron Lorente (#507 Team Driver/KR-Iame), and another Italian, Edoardo Colucci (#572 Team Driver/KR-Iame). The driver who secured pole position, the Ukrainian Oleksandr Legenkyi (#502 Team Driver/KR-Iame), is currently lagging a bit behind.


OKN and OKNJ – Apicella in OK-N and Hoogendoorn in OK-NJ confirm their places.

In OK-N, the Italian driver Antonio Apicella (#808 Team Driver/KR-Iame-Vega) reaffirmed his dominance with two victories in the three heats, while the current points leader, the Turkish driver Bati Ege Yildirim (#802 Modena Kart/Parolin-TM Kart), settled for a single win in the first heat. These two leading figures are dominating the category, although there are other competitors seeking to secure top positions with mixed results, such as the Italian Federico Lenzo (#811 Novalux/Lenzokart-LKE), and his teammate, the the Estonian driver Robin Sarg, and the Swedish driver Leon Hedfors (#813 DR/DR-Modena Engines).

In the OK-N Junior category, the Dutch driver Dean Hoogendoorn (#701 AKM Motorsport/KR-Iame) took center stage with three victories in the three heats. He is followed by the Spanish driver Bosco Arias Chavarri (#729 Team Driver/KR-Iame), the Italian Giacomo Giusto (#712 Modena Kart/Parolin-TM Kart), the current Junior category leader, the British driver Jesse Phillips (#719 Kidix/KR-Iame) and another Italian driver, Cristian Tonalini (#707 Tona Racing/Tony Kart-TM Kart). 


The program of WSK Euro Series, Round 2, Sarno:

Sunday, November 5th: 8:15 warm-up; Prefinals from 10:00 and Finals from 12:20 with Live TV and Live Streaming coverage: 12:20 MINI U10, 12:50 MINI GR.3, 13:40 OKN-OKNJ; 14:10 OKJ, 14:40 OK.


The next WSK rounds.

WSK Final Cup
1st Rd 19/11/2023 Lonato / MINI – OKJ – OK – KZ2 – X30J – X30S
2nd Rd 26/11/2023 Franciacorta / MINI – OKJ – OK – KZ2 – OKN – OKNJ


Rate this article:
No rating
Comments (0)Number of views (253)